Donate to our 2020 Scholarship Fund!

Seattle AWIS encourages and appreciates individual and company/organization donations to the 2019-2020 scholarship fund (donations should be sent by May 1st, 2020).  All donations are 100% tax-deductible, and 100% of the money is used directly for scholarships. Individuals who contribute at least $1000 and companies/organizations that contribute at least $1500 to the Seattle AWIS scholarship fund will have a scholarship named in their honor.  These donors will be acknowledged on the Seattle AWIS website and at the awards banquet in June of 2020, and will have the opportunity to present the scholarships that they fund to the fortunate recipients at the banquet.  Questions contact –

Applications are being accepted for AWIS Seattle Scholarships 2020-2021!

Sponsor:  Association for Women in Science (AWIS)

Award: Scholarship amounts range from $1000 – $7500.

Deadline: March 1, 2020

Eligibility: Open to women who will be juniors or seniors at a four-year college or university in the state of Washington in the Fall of 2020.  Applicants must have a declared major in the sciences, engineering or mathematics, and must have a United States issued social security number. Winners generally have exemplary grades, outstanding letters of recommendation, financial need, a record of community service, and a strong interest in pursuing a career in the sciences, engineering or mathematics.

Number  Awarded: 5-8 scholarships per year (usually 30 – 40 applicants)

Contact: Fran Solomon, Ph.D., AWIS Scholarship Committee (

Download the application form here. You can apply by sending the form and all documents through email, or by completing the online application form and submitting required documents directly here.

Congratulations to the 2019

AWIS Scholarship Recipients

2019 Seattle AWIS undergraduate scholarship recipients and Scholarship Committee co-chairs.

L to R: 

Hannah Redden, Hang Mai, Kayla Eschenbacher, Tina Rajabi, Fran Solomon (center, Scholarship Committee Co-chair), Melissa Conerly (Scholarship Committee Co-chair), Tracy Pennell, Susan Schowalter, Brianna Christiansen

Scholarship Recipient                      Scholarship Donor

Kayla Eschenbacher                          Conerly Family Patricia Virgadamo Mem. Scholarship

   University of Washington | Senior | Neuroscience

Susan Schowalter                              Conerly Family Patricia Virgadamo Mem. Scholarship

   Pacific Lutheran University | Senior | Biology

Tina Rajabi                                         Battelle Scholarship

   University of Washington | Senior | Math

Mikaela Schlesinger                         Battelle Scholarship

   Gonzaga University | Junior | Biology (Honors Program)

Hang Mai                                            Smith-Hamrick Scholarship

   University of Washington | Junior | Electrical Engineering

Hannah (Hyae Won) Redden            Thompson-Branum Scholarship

   University of Washington | Senior | Bioengineering and Biochemistry

Tracy Pennell                                      Leon and Emma Solomon Memorial Scholarship

   University of Washington | Senior | Civil and Environmental Engineering

Brianna Christiansen                         Pearson Family Follow Your Dreams Scholarship

   Seattle Pacific University | Senior | Electrical Engineering

Camille Zaug                                      Gilbert-Camp Scholarship

   Seattle University | Senior | Math and Physics

Beth Gebre                                         Pay It Forward Scholarship

   Seattle Pacific University | Junior | Physiology

Thank you to the 2019 Scholarship Donors:

                               Battelle         Conerly Family   

               Veronica Smith & Natalie Hamrick            Fran Solomon

               Carol Thompson & Mark Branum              Lauren Ryan

               Steve Gilbert & Janice Camp                      Pearson Family

                                 AWIS Members and Supporters

2019 AWIS Banquet Pictures

Pictures of scholarship donors and recipients

Pictures of scholarship donors and recipients.

For more information contact the AWIS Scholarship Committee at

Thank you to our 2018 AWIS Scholarship Donors!

Gold Level (funded two scholarships)
  • Battelle 
  • AWIS members
Silver Level (funded one scholarship)
    • Conerly: Patricia Virgadamo Memorial Scholarship
    • Bristol-Myers Squibb
    • Smith-Hamrick
    • Solomon: Leon & Emma Solomon Scholarship 
    • Pearson Family
  • Gilbert-Camp 

Congratulations to our 2018 AWIS Scholarship recipients!

At the AWIS Banquet on June 14th, ten young women were introduced as recipients of the 2018 Seattle AWIS Scholarships. The scholarship fund donors were on hand to present the scholarship awards.

  • Tracie Barry (University of Washington, Tacoma | Senior | Environmental Science) – Battelle Scholarship
  • Heather Bergey (Seattle University | Junior | Math) – AWIS Members Scholarship
  • Zaya Delgerjargal (University of Washington, Seattle | Senior| Environmental Studies and Economics) – Gilbert-Camp Scholarship
  • Katie Hearther (University of Washington, Seattle | Junior| Oceanography) – Leon & Emma Solomon Scholarship
  • Miwako Ito (University of Washington, Seattle | Junior | Chemical Engineering) Smith-Hamrick Scholarship
  • Mireya Jimenez-Magana (Gonzaga University | Junior | Biology) – Battelle Scholarship
  • Grace Sullivan (University of Puget Sound | Senior | Molecular & Cellular Biology) – Bristol-Myers Squibb Scholarship    
  • Miranda Taggart (Seattle University | Junior | Biochemistry) – AWIS Members Scholarship
  • Katelyn Tozer (University of Washington, Tacoma | Senior | Biomedical Science) – Patricia Virgadamo Memorial Scholarship    
  • Camille Zaug (Seattle University | Junior | Math and Physics) – Pearson Family Follow Your Dreams Scholarship

The Seattle AWIS Scholarship program began in 1991 and has been awarding scholarships annually to undergraduate women majoring in STEM at Washington universities or colleges. Since then, over $175,000 in scholarships has been awarded. Recipients were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, motivation to pursue a science-based career, and a record of giving back to their communities.

2018 AWIS Scholarship winners and donors. Back Row: Miranda Taggart, Karen De Jongh, Melissa Conerly, Grace Sullivan, Jessica Pearson, Camille Zaug, Megan Pearson, Miwako Ito, Veronica Smith, Natalie Hamrick. Front Row: Steve Gilbert, Fran Solomon, Janice Camp, Katelyn Tozer

See more information about past winners of the Seattle AWIS scholarships and what they’ve achieved!