Annual Awards Banquet

The 2020 AWIS Banquet date is moved to May 22, 2021

The annual banquet is an inspirational evening celebrating the achievements of all women in science.  You will hear from the 2020/2021 Award Winners, meet the AWIS undergraduate scholarship recipients and enjoy the company of other supporters of women in science, technology, engineering and math.

For more information, contact Reitha Weeks at

Congratulations to the 2020 AWIS Award Winners!

Science Advancement and Leadership
Dr. Sheri Tonn, PhD,
(Retired) Professor of Chemistry, VP Finance,
Pacific Lutheran University

Early Career Achievement in STEM
Dr. Margaret Sibley, PhD,
Associate Professor, 
UW Dept of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences and Seattle Children’s Hospital

Excellence in STEM Education/Outreach
Dr. Amanda Jones, PhD,
Senior Director, Education Initiatives,
 Seattle Children’s Research Institute

Excellence in Professional Development Education
Dr. Karen Peterson, PhD,
Director, Office of Scientific Career Development and Scientific Ombuds,
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center