About Us

Our Mission

The mission of the Seattle Area Chapter of the Association for Women in Science (AWIS) is to create a broad, interdisciplinary, welcoming environment to advance the careers of women in science and technology, and promote the participation of Girls in the sciences.

Our Vision 

We envision a world where Seattle Women of all ages are actively supported in STEM hobbies, studies, and careers. We believe that the entire Seattle community will benefit when women are positively represented, compensated, and recognized for their achievements in all STEM pursuits.

2021-2022 Seattle AWIS Board Members

images of 15 women looking into the camera.

Contact Us

President Mi-Youn Brusniak, PhD, PMP president@seattleawis.org
Vice President Tracy E. Popowics, PhD, vicepresident@seattleawis.org
Secretary Pauline Chane, BS, and Elizabeth Goodnight, B.S. secretary@seattleawis.org
Treasurer Reitha Weeks, PhD treasurer@seattleawis.org
Awards & Banquet Alison Fitch, MBA, and Natalie Merrill, MS awards@seattleawis.org
Programs Isil Hamdemir, PhD programs@seattleawis.org
Girls in Engineering Math & Science (GEMS) Alice Mukora, & Kimberly Belmes gems@seattleawis.org
Group Mentoring Danielle Faivre, BS mentoring@seattleawis.org
Membership Miriam L. R. Meister, PhD and Pauline Chane, BS membership@seattleawis.org
Publicity & Website Laura Szkolar Sienkiewicz, PhD, PMP, RAC webmaster@seattleawis.org
Scholarship Fran Solomon, PhD and Melissa Conerly, PhD scholarship@seattleawis.org

Our History

Seattle AWIS was founded in 1985, through graduate students and post-doctoral researchers at the University of Washington (UW). Early days for Seattle AWIS focused on UW graduate students, postdocs, and faculty in the biological and health sciences with chapter meetings held at UW South Campus Center