Open to women who will be juniors or seniors at a four-year college or university in the state of Washington in the Fall of 2022.  Applicants must have a declared major in the sciences, engineering or mathematics, and must have a United States issued social security number. Winners generally have exemplary grades, outstanding letters of recommendation, financial need, a record of community service, and a strong interest in pursuing a career in the sciences, engineering or mathematics. Scholarships range from $1000 – $5000+

Applications for 2022 Scholarships are now open

To apply to the scholarship fund, download the file below, and return it to the scholarship committee (instructions in application)

More About the Scholarship Program

4 women sitting around a table together, in front of an AWIS background

The Seattle AWIS Scholarship program began in 1991, and has been awarding scholarships annually to undergraduate Women majoring in STEM at Washington Universities or Colleges. Since then, and with thanks to the support of our generous donors Seattle AWIS had awarded over $250,000 in scholarships.

Seattle AWIS is funded by volunteers and donations.

Donate to the Scholarship Fund

Seattle AWIS encourages and appreciates individual, company, and organization donations to the scholarship fund. All donations are 100% tax-deductible, and 100% of the money is used directly for scholarships. Individuals who contribute at least $1000, and companies/organizations that contribute at least $1500 to the Seattle AWIS scholarship fund will have a scholarship named in their honor. These donors will be acknowledged on the Seattle AWIS website, at an awards banquet, and will have the opportunity to present the scholarships that they fund to the recipient.

Thank You to our 2022 Donors

Emily Turner
Allyson Nelson
Amy Siegesmund            
Anne Shaffer
Booz Allen Hamilton Inc
Daniel Lipkie and Roberta Goodnow
Fran Solomon                
Jessica and Lance Pearson
Linda Mantel                     
Megan Pearson Trabun
Melissa Conerly and Scott Greenwood
Mi-Youn and Leon Brusniak
Paula Cipolla and Steve Albright
Pirkko Borland  
Reitha Weeks                   
Rian de Laat
Sheila Lukehart
Sheri Tonn 
Stephanie Lucash
Tyler Folsom


Thank You to our 2021 Donors

Allyson Nelson
Amy Siegesmund
Donation in honor of Dr. Luke Wander Januszewski and Leslie O’Loughlin Wander
Fran Solomon
Frieda Taub
Jessica and Lance Pearson
Linda Mantel
Martin Machacek and Martina Machackova
Megan Pearson
Melissa Conerly/Scott Greenwood
Paramita Mookherjee
Reitha Weeks
Rian de Laat
Sheila Lukehart
Steve Gilbert/Janice Camp

2020 Seattle AWIS Scholarship Awardees

Screen capture from a zoom meeting for the AWIS 2020 scholarship awardees. The awardees can be seen on camera on the right, and slides are shared on the left with information about the awards.

Ada Delacruz
Ammara Touch
Beth Gebre
Cassidy Sebastian
Emily Robinson
Eva Alleman
Juliana Covarrubias

Madeline Bruner
Manuela Dorado Novoa
Mikaela Schlesinger
Nguyen Nhu
Sofia Carriera
Valentina Machalina
Vanessa Begazo