The 2020 AWIS Banquet in June has been cancelled. We are evaluating the situation and looking forward to celebrating the winners this fall.


Congratulations to the AWIS 2020 Award winners, for the amazing contributions they have made to STEM in the Pacific Northwest!

Science Advancement and Leadership
Dr. Sheri Tonn, PhD, Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, VP Finance,
Pacific Lutheran University

Early Career Achievement in STEM
Dr. Margaret Sibley, PhD, Associate Professor,
UW Dept of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences and Seattle Children’s Hospital

Excellence in STEM Education/Outreach
Dr. Amanda Jones, PhD, Senior Director, Education Initiatives,
Seattle Children’s Research Institute

Excellence in Professional Development Education
Dr. Karen Peterson, PhD, Director, Office of Scientific Career Development and Scientific Omsbud,
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center