Applications are open for 2019 AWIS Scholarships!

Award: Scholarship amounts range from $1000 – $5000.
Deadline: Friday March 1st, 2019.
Eligibility: Open to women who will be juniors or seniors at a four-year college or university in the state of Washington in the Fall of 2019. Applicants must have a declared major in the sciences, technology, engineering or mathematics, and must have a United States issued social security number.

Winners generally have exemplary grades, outstanding letters of recommendation, financial need, a record of community service, and a strong interest in pursuing a career in the sciences, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM fields).
Number Awarded: 4-8 scholarships per year (usually 30 – 40 applicants)

The application requires:

  • a completed application form (download here)
  • an unofficial transcript of studies and community service
  • an essay response
  • 2 letters of recommendation

You may submit your application either by

  • including all the required documents in an email to the Scholarship Committee
  • OR by filling out the application as an online form and uploading all required documents within it. We recommend that you go through the downloadable form to prepare the required information before beginning the online form.

For more information contact the AWIS Scholarship Committee at

Donations can be made to the Scholarship Fund via PayPal

Donate to our 2018-2019 Scholarship Fund!

Seattle AWIS encourages and appreciates individual and company/organization donations to the 2018-2019 scholarship fund (donations should be sent by April 2019).  All donations are 100% tax-deductible, and 100% of the money is used directly for scholarships. Individuals who contribute at least $1000 and companies/organizations that contribute at least $1500 to the Seattle AWIS scholarship fund will have a scholarship named in their honor.  These donors will be acknowledged on the Seattle AWIS website and at the awards banquet in June of 2019, and will have the opportunity to present the scholarships that they fund to the fortunate recipients at the banquet.  Questions contact –


Thank you to our 2018 AWIS Scholarship Donors!

Gold Level (funded two scholarships)
  • Battelle 
  • AWIS members
Silver Level (funded one scholarship)
    • Conerly: Patricia Virgadamo Memorial Scholarship
    • Bristol-Myers Squibb
    • Smith-Hamrick
    • Solomon: Leon & Emma Solomon Scholarship 
    • Pearson Family
  • Gilbert-Camp 

Congratulations to our 2018 AWIS Scholarship recipients!

At the AWIS Banquet on June 14th, ten young women were introduced as recipients of the 2018 Seattle AWIS Scholarships. The scholarship fund donors were on hand to present the scholarship awards.

  • Tracie Barry (University of Washington, Tacoma | Senior | Environmental Science) – Battelle Scholarship
  • Heather Bergey (Seattle University | Junior | Math) – AWIS Members Scholarship
  • Zaya Delgerjargal (University of Washington, Seattle | Senior| Environmental Studies and Economics) – Gilbert-Camp Scholarship
  • Katie Hearther (University of Washington, Seattle | Junior| Oceanography) – Leon & Emma Solomon Scholarship
  • Miwako Ito (University of Washington, Seattle | Junior | Chemical Engineering) Smith-Hamrick Scholarship
  • Mireya Jimenez-Magana (Gonzaga University | Junior | Biology) – Battelle Scholarship
  • Grace Sullivan (University of Puget Sound | Senior | Molecular & Cellular Biology) – Bristol-Myers Squibb Scholarship    
  • Miranda Taggart (Seattle University | Junior | Biochemistry) – AWIS Members Scholarship
  • Katelyn Tozer (University of Washington, Tacoma | Senior | Biomedical Science) – Patricia Virgadamo Memorial Scholarship    
  • Camille Zaug (Seattle University | Junior | Math and Physics) – Pearson Family Follow Your Dreams Scholarship

The Seattle AWIS Scholarship program began in 1991 and has been awarding scholarships annually to undergraduate women majoring in STEM at Washington universities or colleges. Since then, over $175,000 in scholarships has been awarded. Recipients were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, motivation to pursue a science-based career, and a record of giving back to their communities.

2018 AWIS Scholarship winners and donors. Back Row: Miranda Taggart, Karen De Jongh, Melissa Conerly, Grace Sullivan, Jessica Pearson, Camille Zaug, Megan Pearson, Miwako Ito, Veronica Smith, Natalie Hamrick. Front Row: Steve Gilbert, Fran Solomon, Janice Camp, Katelyn Tozer

See more information about past winners of the Seattle AWIS scholarships and what they’ve achieved!